Paragliding from Mont Blanc REFLECTIONS

Softy

Softy

My Saxon Warrior
Rock hard

One thing above all made this project possible from conception to conclusion – my climbing companion. Should you attempt a similar escapade you’ll quickly discover just how vital your companion is.

Paragliding stuff

WING If Paragliding wings were boats my  OZONE Peak  would be an arctic trawler. It might not win any races but it’s about as unsinkable as they come. We had a down wind glide in some amazingly rough air and it saw me through.  For those thinking of performance it has done a 100 K XC thermal flight.

Harness Supair Everest Neat and light – I had it modified by Ripair to suit my body length better. Now I love it

 Sack Kortel sack/airbag – Absolutely brilliant. Its well made, fantastic design for mountain use very comfortable to carry – big enough for my kit on the way up, stows all my kit on the way down, doesn’t impead the launch and gives excellect protection.

Mountain stuff

I love it all – collectively it’s my teddy bear, my security blanket – The Jetboil stove given me by Matt Pepper is a top favourite. I can scoop snow and make tea in the morning using one gloved hand. On the other hand I’m a bit too sentimental about my axe it’s heavy and short but when I found myself whistling down hard water ice with the prospect of stopping us both I new the head would stay on and the pick would bight.

Heady stuff

Great moutaineers know when to turn back – Great paraglider pilots know when not to fly.  Kit these days is so good in either sport it wont let you down.  Yes there are and always will be ‘objective dangers’  but most accidents are due to climber/pilot error.  On our second training climb in the dark, at altitude, in fresh snow with no tracks we wandered off route. Roped and moving together we slipped. Yes we stopped ourselves but in previous falls I have stuck my axe in my belly and  have locked my legs together with a crampon in my calf. This time we were lucky. The first time I climbed Mont Blanc I saw 2 chaps fall to their death.  This time one chap died on the day we flew down. Gather experience, Get the best kit, Get super fit, Get acclimatised and always remember that in the lifetime of a man the Mountain waits.

The joy of climbing a mountain like Mont Blanc and then flying down to land by the car with your companion cannot be explained.  If you take all the very best, most wonderfull things that happen in your life this is way way up there but you can’t share it. It’s so unique it’s a secret known to very few.

Leave a comment